Penang: putting the ‘Eat’ in Eat Pray Love

My sightseeing days in Penang largely revolved around my meals. I had a list of local food this island is famous for and I therefore must try, and a list of eateries passionate foodies are raving about on the net. Uncovered local gems that don’t often see tourists.

There was no time to waste so I got straight to work. Here’s how Day 1 went…

PENANG HILL

I was above the clouds again…only this time I took the funicular train up – my climbing shoes are still safely in storage. Penang Hill is the highest peak on the island and offers beautiful misty morning panoramic views. 

Accompanying meals:

Breakfast
Rice with small fish in a sambal chilli dressing, wrapped in banana leaf. I bought this roadside and hoped for the best. The lady that sold it to me suggested several times that I go for the chicken sausage pizza instead. It definitely got me fired up for the day.

Snack
Traditional Penang coconut ice cream topped with roasted peanuts. Just yum.

CLAN JETTIES

A big part of George Town’s heritage legacy, this waterfront society is made up of houses on stilts, home to various Chinese clans. It’s been standing for well over a century. 

Accompanying meals:

Lunch
Traditional Penang laksa. Not a tourist in sight the waitress asked me if I was in the right place. She then kindly showed me how to eat this bowl of goodness. I was very grateful when she went in search of a fork after assessing my noodle-chopstick capabilities.

Dessert
Cendol – shaved ice drenched in extra sweetened coconut milk, topped with unidentifiable flavoured green jelly bits and kidney beans. Yes kidney beans. 

TROPICAL SPICE GARDEN

An educational walk showcasing over 500 species of fauna and flora, with facts about their uses in the modern world. What I took away from this experience was at least 25 insect bites. 

Accompanying meal:

Snack
Iced chocolate drink. Just because I had abstained until today and, well, what’s another few calories on this Wednesday.

GURNEY DRIVE

Famous for its ‘hawker food’ stalls, this night market hands down wins the most amount of amazing food you’ll find in one place prize. My new favourite way to dine. 

Accompanying meal:

Dinner 1
Char Koay Teow – traditional prawn and egg flat noodle stir fry that I’ll never be able to recreate myself. Possibly my culinary highlight of the day. 

LITTLE INDIA

You turn the corner and suddenly you’re in a different country entirely. Bollywood music is pounding the streets, there’s colour, there’s chaos and there’s the smell of good cooking. 

Accompanying meals:

Dinner 2
Deep fried batter with peanuts served with shredded cucumber and kidney bean sauce. 

Dessert 1
Coconut and banana pancakes.

For the journey home…

Dessert 2
An espresso Magnum. Simply because they’ve been talking to me from the depths of the freezers since I arrived and seen as though I’ve just tipped at least 7000 calories today…why not…

Seeing the days consumption listed I’m not sure if I feel proud or embarrassed, but either way my mission was accomplished! Now unable to move or breath I decide to hit the beach the following day for some relaxation and digestion time.

Walking along Batu Ferringhi beach I see a sign for the famous reflexologist Mr Foo, whom I’ve read so much about on the net. Out of curiosity I book half an hour with him. In that short time not only did he sort the knots in my neck, he read my palm and informed me that I’ll be having two children, I’ll make my next husband rich (not sure how I’ll word that in the prenup), and then advised that I eat a slice of papaya a day to keep my boobs firm for life. All for £6, that’s value for money.

Unfortunately the record rainfall that fell that night caused a landslide on the only road that leads to the National Park. So my itinerary came to a halt at this point. Hmm what to do…I literally spent the next few days eating and beaching and eating more. And I’m still going. Get me off this island!

Where’s been your favourite culinary experience? Feel free to share, like, comment X

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Stella Michael says:

    Food looks anazing! And Mr. Foo…. 🙌🏼🙌🏼

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Christine says:

      I know right! I went back to him the next day and asked him to tell me more! X

      Like

Leave a comment