Southern Thailand: I’m in Phi Phi paradise

I’m on the third and final leg of my travels which I’ll be spending in Thailand, a place that has been on my ‘must visit’ list for many moons. I’ve got high expectations for this well trodden corner of the world, and I’m excited to start a new country and a new chapter of my trip.

Waving off Malaysia I jumped on a boat headed for Koh Lipe. It’s a tiny island off the southwest coast where i’m meeting Rachael, who has also been backpacking these last couple months. We have so much to catch up on!!

And I have arrived…

This beach, this view, a bottle of wine and a hundred stories to share…Rachael and I got to work. Having checked out the island by foot within 15 minutes, it was clear there was little else to do other than beach, eat, yoga, massage, eat more, then sleep. And we did all of the above to get the full experience.

I think we were both glad of the opportunity for some down time to recharge the batteries before we headed off on our separate ways again. It’s funny, I’ve spent the last two months exploring and playing, and yet I was feeling exhausted! But a couple days on this island did just the trick.

The next stop for me was Koh Lanta. I boarded the speedboat and had a real moment of gratitude that as a westerner I am so lucky to have the opportunity to do this. To explore 3 countries in 3 months. The freedom of waking up each morning and deciding what adventure I want to have that day. To be welcomed by locals that couldn’t even dream of such an trip. I vowed that if ever I return to travel again i’d love to volunteer in some way to give something back.

Now I didn’t have long on Koh Lanta so I joined a Parisian couple the following day on an ‘explore the caves by kayak’ tour with Talabeng Sea Kayaking. We boarded the long-tail boat to firstly visit the cave of Koh Phee. You can tell I’m excited…

Our tour guide was an absolute nut job singing at the top of his lungs. We jumped off the boat and followed him to his makeshift climbing frame leading to the inside of the cave. My companions nervously asked whether the ropes were ever checked and he reassured them that he tied them with his very own hands so of course they’re safe! This made me chuckle. I’ve been in Asia long enough to know that health and safety just doesn’t exist here, and for once I was the laid back one in the group.

“Let’s gooo, easy banana!!”

That was his saying at every hurdle and became the saying of the day. 

Nicknamed the skull cave due to its shape, we peered out of the ‘eyes’ to a stunning view. Landscape that is so unique to Thailand. 

Next we jumped in the kayaks and drifted around the islands exploring, swimming and finding a secluded beach that only appears when the tide is out to have a picnic on. My kind of day. 

And just when I thought Thailand couldn’t be anymore beautiful…I get to Koh Phi Phi! I must admit I splashed out and stayed in the Paradise Resort Phi Phi on the beautiful Long Beach away from the madness. I mean, to get to the town involved a rope climb so I figured the party animals wouldn’t be venturing this way. Other than a sunset snorkelling trip to see the plankton light up around me I simply just enjoyed my surroundings. Phi Phi was paradise. 

The extent of my exertion was a trek up to the viewpoint which was worth leaving my bay for. 

Then it was time for Railay in Krabi. Surrounded by limestone giants that have sprung out of the sea, this town is known for rock climbing. So rock climbing I did indeed with Krabi Rock Climbing

I climbed with a couple from The States that are travelling for a whole year with their 20 month old baby. A real free spirited family. We let baby Judy have a turn on the rocks and she showed us all up!

And then the rain came. For 3 whole days. My first moment of (dare I admit) boredom. I’d drunk all the coffee (and gin) I could handle, read several books, napped when I couldn’t think of how else to spend my time, and still it rained. A complete washout. Then the day before I’m due to move on, the clouds separated at 5pm. Wanting to make the most of the last hour of sunshine I decided to jump in a kayak and go for a leisurely paddle.

I’m headed out to sea and suddenly the wind picked up and the current stirred angrily. My hour of fun turned into a cardio session, that turned into a battle just to stay facing in the right direction. I decided to head to shore but quickly realised this maybe wasn’t going to be possible. With only me in the kayak to weigh it down, the front end kept flipping up and turning around blowing me in the wrong direction. Trying not to panic I looked around and noticed others struggling also. A couple were heave-hoing past so I called out to them and asked if I could stay nearby incase I got into trouble. “Sure” they said, then rowed off without looking back once!

It was now dark and with no other boats nearby I found all my strength and battled back to shore. Several times I was spun around and at this point with jelly arms I considered jumping in the sea and swimming back. Suffice to say I made it. And after I dragged my kayak onto the sand I saw the unhelpful couple having a deep and meaningful with the rental man. “Oh you made it then”. Can you imagine my face…?

I headed straight for a Thai massage to relax that, FYI, out here is an actual form of torture. She stood on me, clicked bones that didn’t want to be disturbed, attacked my knots with no compassion, and ended with me being balanced in the air in the crab position. I was ready for bed!

The following day I was relieved to be moving onto Khao Sok. I arrived in the jungle, which I’ve come to realise I find more tranquil than a beach. If it wasn’t for the creepy crawlies and the wildlife orchestra keeping me awake all night I’d happily spend a week here. But 3 nights in Our Jungle House is going to be plenty.

Khao Sok is one of the most picturesque places I have ever seen. Everything that surrounds you feels so big and so dramatic.

We took a boat ride on the emerald lake then hiked through the jungle, learning about the wildlife along the way. We played peekaboo with a tarantula…

The following evening I thought a nighttime safari would be something a little different. In the pitch black jungle, with just our headlamps to guide our way, I got chatting to a girl from the UK who recently moved to Thailand. For two whole hours we excitedly spoke about home. At the end of the tour we thanked our guide for a wonderful evening, even though we didn’t spot much as the wildlife could hear us coming a mile away!

Koh Samui was next on the itinerary with Lady Michael (mum). Unfortunately due to the torrential rain it’s experienced this last week, it’s flooded and has been declared a state of disaster. I’m currently hanging out in the beautiful beach town of Khao Lak figuring out a plan B. I’m thinking we head to northern Thailand so any tips guys I’d really appreciate it. The mothership is landing in a couple days!!

Feel free to share, like, comment, give me some northern Thailand top tips X

Leave a comment