Gili Islands: when 4 girls meet in a jungle 

After the chill of Lombok I wondered whether I’d be up for the crazy party that is Gili. Sat in the Bangsal harbour cafe thinking this, I waited to be called for my boat.

“People for Gili Air this way”
Romantic couples holding hands lovingly strolled out together to be taken to the honeymoon island.

“Everyone for Gili Meno follow me”
Lots of female solo travellers got up and chattily made their way out to their boat (should I be going with them?)

“Gili T, let’s go!” 
A young, rowdy, hungover from the night before kind of group cheered loudly and off we went. This island could well stand for Gili Tinder looking at this crowd…

We were ushered to an area of horse and carts and were told to quickly board one for just 50,000 rupiah as our boat was about to leave. Now, given that the boat only cost 15,000, that nothing runs on time in Indonesia and I could see the ocean from where I was stood, I was sure this was a con. I gracefully declined and said that I was happy to walk.

“But sister, you are on your own and if the boat leaves without you what will you do? Sister I would never lie to you, QUICK WE MUST LEAVE! It is for your safety”
Looking around me it seemed I was the only one challenging the ride, and being solo you do feel vulnerable in these situations. So I decided to hop on. Lo and behold, three clip clops later we were there, with another 20 minute wait in front of us.

Meet my brother that was ‘looking out for me’…

We kind of slowly floated over to Gili Trawangan, as the engine on the boat wasn’t really working. Not uncommon in this corner of the world. As we approached you could hear the music vibrating. It was 10.30am and the party was in full swing. 

The following day I was reunited with my girls from the Gypsea Yoga Retreat in Lombok. Four girls from four different countries, all travelling solo. We hit it off the second we met and were inseparable the entire week we spent on Gili. My stay on this island was made so special and so memorable because of this. And whilst there was a bit of party involved, and maybe some 3am swimming, we did so much more. We had so many stand out moments.

I definitely hit my beach peak so far on Gili. The water is crystal and the marine underworld so clear to see. Julie taught me to stand up paddle, which is now my favourite morning activity. There were moments of being surrounded by flying fish, or finally seeing a turtle come up for air. I have definitely found my happy place.

We kayaked to the neighbouring island, Gili Meno, for a spot of lunch and some peace and quiet. A moment away from the madness of Gili T, cold Bintangs in hand, we were already planning our reunion.

I got my snorkel on and saw a sea snake, amongst all of the colourful weird and wonderful fish. I later googled and read that I was very right to swim very fast in the opposite direction…

We cycled to the other side of the island for a sunset dinner. The simplicity of the setting and the collective appreciation of just watching nature do its thing was again a moment of pure happiness. 

I’m so thankful to have met these amazing girls. You could often hear us gushing each day that it was the best day ever! If people could hear us they may have thought it a little extreme, but we got to experience something very unique. Something you can’t really explain. To quote Signe “I was doing just fine before I met you, but I’m doing even better now.”

We’ve now parted ways with a new energy for our journies ahead, and it’s just me left on Gili. I’m not quite done with this island yet so I think I’m going to stick around until the wind takes me to my next destination.

Feel free to share, like, comment, show some love X

Leave a comment